ICOPHAI 2013 Executive Body

Wondwossen Gebreyes, President 
Professor and Director of Global Health Programs 
The Ohio State University, College of Veterinary Medicine, U.S.A.


Celso B. Oliveira 
Secretary General
Associate Professor, Federal University of Paraiba, Brazil 


Marisa Cardoso 
VP, Organization
Professor, Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil 


Rudovick Kazwala
VP, Scientific Program 
Professor, Sokoine University of Agriculture, Tanzania


ICOPHAI 2013 Advisory Council

  • Kira Christian Center for Disease Control and Prevention, Global Disease Detection, U.S.
  • Jean Dupuoy-Camet, President, European Federation of Parasitologists, Univ. de Cartes, France;
  • Maria Giovanni Assistant Director at the National Institutes of Health-NIH, NIAID, USA
  • Daniel Gustafson, Deputy Director General- Operations, Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO)
  • Lonnie King- Executive Dean of Health Sciences, The Ohio State University
  • Jonna Mazet Director of the Institute of One Health, Univ. of California , Davis, Director USAID PREDICT
  • Franklin Natoniel de Melo Director of the Semiarid Brazilian Agricultural Research Corporation [EMBRAPA], Brazil
  • Alberto Pessoa- President, Brazilian Society of Microbiology;
  • Salvatore Rubino Editor-in-Chief, Journal of Infection in Developing Countries, Italy
  • Karen Sliter- Regional Manager, USDA-APHIS-IS US Mission to the EU
  • Mary Torrence National Program Leader of Food Safety, USDA, Agricultural Research Service
  • Janice Zanella Executive Secretary for International Liaison, Brazilian Agricultural Research Corporation [EMBRAPA]

Organizing Committee

  • Sumalee Boonmar Senior Scientist Program Collaboration in Global Health Ministry of Public Health of Thailand/ CDC
  • Armando Hoet Director of Veterinary Public Health, The Ohio State University
  • Mateus Matiuzzi, Director of Graduate Programs, University of Sao Francisco Valley, Petrolina, Brazil
  • Bayleyegn Molla Clin. Asst. Professor, Veterinary Preventive Medicine, The Ohio State University
  • Prapas Patchanee, Chiang Mai University, Thailand
  • Lauro Santos Filho Federal University of Paraiba, Brazil
  • Tania Raso University of São Paulo, Brazil
  • Rafael Vieira Federal University of Paraiba, Brazil

Scientific Program Committee

  • Silmara Allegretti Professor, Medical Parasitology, University of Campinas, Brazil
  • Nitish C Debnath Professor and National Consultant, Outbreak Response and Expert Laboratory; Avian Influenza Technical Unit, Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations, Pshusampad Bhaban, Farmgate, Dhaka
  • Odir Dellagostin Professor, Federal University of Pelotas, Brazil
  • Ana Gales Professor, Universidade Federal de São Paulo, Brazil
  • Daniel Janies Professor, University of North Carolina at Charlotte
  • Samuel Kariuki Director, Center for Microbiology Research at the Kenyan Medical Research Institute and Fellow of Wellcome Trust
  • Marcelo Labruna - Professor, Vector-borne Parasitology, University of São Paulo
  • Abhay Satoskar - Professor, Pathology and Vector-borne Diseases at Ohio State University Medical Center, U.S.A.
  • Jaap Wagenaar Professor, University of Utrecht, The Netherlands and Global Food infection Network (GFN)].